looking back: looking feminist, looking black

Last Monday was the first meeting of my Black Feminisms grad seminar. We introduced ourselves to one another and I explained the schema of the course. Nervous that the class wouldn’t attract enough students to “make” or at least to offer stimulating dialogue, I was happy to enter a filled room with students from my home departments (English and AF-Am) and also from the other side of campus (psych, soc, anthro).

I devised the schema for my course based on a post-civil rights movement/post-soul/”third wave” black women writers course I taught a couple of years ago. I decided to begin by focusing on black feminism in the 21st century. Kimberly Springer’s “Third Wave Black Feminism?” and responses to that piece are going to ground next Monday’s discussion as is Veronica Chambers’s first novel Miss Black America.

About jennifer williams

Jennifer D. Williams is a writer and professor of English and Women's and Gender Studies. She has published in academic journals and online at Ms.blog, PopMatters, among other sites. Jennifer is currently working on a book that looks at black women's urban literature between the Depression and the civil rights era.

4 responses to “looking back: looking feminist, looking black

  1. Jen, this looks great! Looking forward to the discussions that emerge.

  2. Hi Jen, thanks for including me in the conversation. As someone who does not reside in the realm of academia, rather in corporate America, I look forward to reading this as an avenue to widening my perspective. Good luck! Kat

  3. i know it was a million years agobut, it was nice seeing you at the reading in julylooking forward to some interesting opinions on your new blog…

  4. (animewong, mskat, mike)I’ll be psyched to hear your comments. I should be posting at least once a week and hopefully incorporating some interviews and such.

Leave a Reply

